The Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering (MIE)

The Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering (MIE) is one of the six academic Departments under the College of Engineering and Technology (CoET). It became operational in July 2009 as a consequence of the implementation of the new University organization structure. The Department of MIE was a result of merging four former Departments which included the Department of Design and Production Engineering, Department of Engineering Management and Entrepreneurship, Department of Energy Engineering and the Department of Engineering materials. The Department of MIE offers 4 undergraduate programmes including:

  1. BSc in Mechanical Engineering
  2. BSc in Industrial Engineering
  3. BSc. in Textile Engineering
  4. BSc. in Textile Design and Technology

Total undergraduate students enrolment is around 600 students per year.


The Department also offers a number of Master’sDegree programmes including:

  1. MSc in Mechanical engineering,
  2. MSc in Production engineering,
  3. MSc in energy engineering,
  4. MSc in Renewable energy,
  5. MSc in oil and gas technology and
  6. Masters in engineering management(MEM)


The Department offers two Postgraduate Diploma programmes including:

  1. Postgraduate Diploma in engineering management
  2. Postgraduate Diploma in Mechanical engineering



Five PhD programmes are offered by the Department, They include;

  1. PhD in engineering management,
  2. PhD in Mechanical engineering
  3. PhD in Energy engineering
  4. PhD in renewable energy
  5. PhD in engineering materials


The Department has a number of laboratories including:

  1. Energy laboratory
  2. Materials Technology laboratory
  3. Production engineering laboratory
  4. Design laboratory – also housing theTtextile laboratory


The Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering (MIE) currently has a total of 59 academic staff and 15 technical and administrative staff. The Department offers a total 104 UG courses and 38 PG courses.