The Directorate of Post Graduate Studies (DPGS) formally replaced the School of Graduate Studies (DPGS) in 2009. The former School was established in 2006, with the main functions as administering and coordinating postgraduate studies at the University of the Dar es Salaam (UDSM). In the past fifteen years the postgraduate students’ population increased from about 100 in 1993/1994 to about 2,607 in 2006/07. During the same period, postgraduate programmes increased from 48 to over 74. In view of the rapid expansion of postgraduate programmes, coupled with the University restructuring programme, the UDSM Council at its 69th meeting approved the re-establishment of the Directorate of Post Graduate Studies (DPGS) and subsequently de-established the School of graduate Studies (SGS). The DPGS has taken over all the functions of the SGS but with more responsibilities including providing the requisite environment for postgraduate studies and activities. Higher Degrees Doctor of Laws (LL.D.), Doctor of Literature (D.Lit.) and Doctor of Science (D.Sc.). These degrees are retained as higher doctorates to be awarded in accordance with regulations relating to higher doctorates at the University of Dar es Salaam. Announcement of Postgraduate Admissions for 2015/2016 Academic Year The University of Dar es Salaam would like to announce that the following applicants have been selected to join various postgraduate programmes for the 2015/2016 academic year. The orientation week and registration processes for new students at UDSM Mwalimu J.K. Nyerere Main Campus will start on Monday12th October 2015 as stipulated in the admission letters. For those applicants selected for admission into the Institute of Marine Sciences (IMS), Dar es Salaam University College of Education (DUCE) and Mkwawa University College of Education (MUCE) should report directly at the respective campuses in Zanzibar, Chang’ombe and Iringa on the same date. Joining instructions and admission letters should be collected at the UDSM Mwalimu J.K. Nyerere Main Campus, IMS, DUCE and MUCE depending on where one is admitted. ***Please click the link below to view selected applicants to join various postgraduate programmes for the 2015/2016 academic year***