Leadership: Deans Office

The School’s administration is under the office of the Dean. The Dean is overseeing the entire Schools activities. According to the University of Dar es Salaam Charter, 2007, the Dean is the head of academic and administration in the School. Specifically, Dean is responsible to;

  • Engaging faculty, staff and students in discussions of all vital School issues and assuring a positive, high-quality working environment.
  • Coordinate all departments, centres and units in the School.
  • Convening strategic intellectual discussions about future academic directions of the School and its centres.
  • To ensure the improved welfare of the School, its staff and students.
  • Playing a key oversight role in all programs, reviews and processes that are important for continuous improvement of the School’s activities.

The Current Dean

Prof Hamudi I Majamba

Prof Majamba 3

The current Dean serving for the 2015-2018 triennium is Professor Hamudi Ismail Majamba. Hamudi Ismail Majamba is an Associate Professor of Law specialising in Natural Resources and Environmental Law. He joined the School (then Faculty of Law) in 1994. He has a Bachelor of Laws Degree (LL. B-1992) (Hons.) [First Class], University of Dar-es-Salaam; 1992, Master of Laws (LL. M-1994) Queen’s University, Kingston, Canada; Certificate in American Law and Legal English, University of Delaware, Delaware, 1996 and Doctor of Philosophy Degree (Ph. D-1999), Northeastern University, Boston. Professor Majamba has been an Advocate of the High Court of Tanzania, Notary Public and Commissioner for Oaths since 1996. He is a member of Tanganyika Law Society and the East Africa Law Society; Bar Associations for Tanzania mainland and East African Countries, respectively.

Before this position, Prof Majamba held several administrative positions within the University. He was an Associate Dean (Academic), Faculty of Law, 2002-2006; Deputy Director, Directorate of Postgraduate Studies, 2009 to 2012 and head of Department of Private Law, 2012 – 2015. His other engagements include being Deputy Editor, East African Law Journal; Member, Editorial Committee, Dar-es-Salaam University Press; Board Member, Eastern Africa Law Review, Faculty of Law; Member: University of Dar-es-Salaam Technical Sub-Committee on HIV/AIDS, 2009; Board Member: Faculty of Law 1988 – to date; Board Member, Graduate School, University of Dar-es-Salaam 2002 – 2012; UDASA Representative, Staff Disciplinary Appeals Committee 2009 to date; Vice Chairperson, University of Dar-es-Salaam Academic Staff Assembly (UDASA) (2008) and Coordinator, Law School of Tanzania, 2009 to 2012.

Professor Majamba’s outstanding contribution to the Tanzanian legal profession, and specifically on the environmental and natural resources sector, has seen him engaged in a lot of national and international assignments of strategic importance. For example, between 2013-2015, he was a member of the expert panel of the Tanzania Natural Resource Charter Programme. Since May 2015, he is a member of the Tanzanian’ Government Negotiating Team on Oil and Gas. Professor Majamba has also served as a Board Member, Ministerial Advisory Board of Tanzania Forest Services of the United Republic of Tanzania between 2011-2014. He has also been a Trustee of the Eastern Arc Mountains Conservation Endowment Fund Tender Board from 2011-2015.

Professor Majamba’s contribution to higher education within and outside Tanzania is exceptional. For instance, he has been a visiting lecturer in various academic institutions such as International Development Law Institute, Rome, Italy (2001) and University of Bayreuth, Germany, Institute of African Studies and Faculty of Law, Business Administration and Economics (2011). He has acted as an external examiner to different universities including Mzumbe University, Faculty of Law, 2000 – 2002; the Open University of Tanzania, Faculty of Law, 2001 -2003; Makerere University Faculty of Law, 2004 – 2012; University of Nairobi Faculty of Law, 2005-2010; Sokoine University of Agriculture, 2011 and St. Augustine University of Tanzania, 2012. Professor Majamba has also acted as a resource person and trainer to numerous national and international seminars and conferences.

Past Deans

Below is the list of our former Deans;

1. Prof. Arthur Brian Weston 1961 - 1968
2. Prof. Y. Ghai 1968 – 1970
3. D. Bishota                  1970
4. Justice P.L.V. Cross 1970 – 1974
5. Prof. J.L. Kanywanyi 1974 – 1979
6. Prof. G.M. Fimbo 1979 – 1982
7. Prof. Costas Mahalu 1985 – 1991
8. Prof. Zebron S. Gondwe 1994 – 1997
9. Dr Wilbert B. L. Kapinga 1998
10. Dr Sengondo E. A. Mvungi 1998 – 2003
11. Prof. Ibrahim H. Juma 2003 – 2006
12. Prof.  Sifuni E.Mchome 2006 – 2009
13. Prof. P.J. Kabudi 2009 – 2012
14. Prof. B.I. Rutinwa 2012 - 2015

Associate Dean

The current Associate Dean, Dr Juliana Masabo

Dr Juliana Masabo


The Associate Dean assists the Dean in the office’s daily activities. Associate Dean works under the directions of the Dean and performs all functions of the Dean in his absence. The current Associate Dean is Dr Juliana Masabo. Juliana Masabo is a Senior Lecturer at the School of Law. She is also the acting Director, Centred for the Study of Forced Migration (CSFM). Dr Masabo holds Bachelor of Law degree (LL. B (Hons)-2003), Master of Laws (LL.M-2005), University of Dar es Salaam, and Doctor of Philosophy degree (Ph. D-2012), University of Cape Town, South Africa. Dr Masabo specialises in labour migration law, citizenship law, refugee law and human right law.

Dr Masabo’s knowledge and experience in his areas of specialisation are enormous. She has done extensive research, teaching, and consultancy in labour migration law, citizenship refugee law, human rights law and related areas. She has a strong track record of coordinating refugee-related projects commissioned by UNHCR, the Government of Tanzania (through the Refugee Service Department) and other key stakeholders. She currently leads the Centre for the Study of Forced Migration (CSFM) and coordinates all its activities. Additionally, Dr Masabo coordinates a Master of Laws programme in Migration and Refugee Law; the first specialised LL.M programme in migration law in Tanzania and East Africa. The programme has, since its launch in 2012, served as an important training hub attracting students from all countries in the sub-region.

Administration Office

Administrative officers assist the Dean in running the day to day activities of the School. Currently, the School has two senior Administrative officers.

Ms Consolatha Lyimo

Consolatha Lyimo

Consolatha William Lyimo is a Senior Administrative Officer I at the School. Before joining the University, she was working at Arusha Municipal Council. She joined the School in February 2007. Working under the Dean’s office, Mrs Lyimo is the head of all administration activities within the School. She engages positively both with administrative and academic staff to ensure the smooth operation of School’s daily activities.

Mrs Lyimo holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Sociology from University of Dar es Salaam in 2002. She also has a Master of Arts degree in Development Studies from the same University. Further, in 2006, she received a Certificate in International Development Studies from Oslo University, Norway.

Mrs Lyimo may be contacted at:

     Published Article

Mrs Lyimo has the following publication

  • Community Awareness on Water Pollution and its Relationship to Health Development in urban Tanzania, Tanzania Journal of Development Studies, 2007.


Mr Patson Gabriel 

Senior Administrative Officer

Patson Gabriel


Other Offices under the Dean’s Office

There are several other offices which assist the Dean in his day to day activities. These offices are;

The Examination Office 

The Office of the Coordinator of Undergraduate Studies

The Office of the Coordinator of Postgraduate Studies

The Office of the Timetable Coordinator